Pictoral Assignment

Never did I think I’d see a gorgeous sunrise in my lifetime. Then the opportunity presented itself at a horse show, and a friend was able to capture this moment for me.

Just looking at this picture brings back so many memories of that day last fall – some things I remember better than others, such as the sights, sounds and smells, rather than other details. It was early in the morning, 5 a.m., and it was still dark outside. Horses were nickering and whinnying in the two barns, some were kicking their doors demanding their morning grain, and grooms and volunteers were filling water buckets and running between the two barns to prepare horses for the warm-ups which were to begin at 7:30. The smells were various, but distinct: the pungent odour of manure, the sweet scent of hay, the tangy smell of diesel from the tractor moving round bales of hay, the damp scent weighing down the air, promising another round of rain, and the slop and sucking of horses, grooms, and horse handlers trudging through the thick mud to keep the horses warm, walking them around.

The horse that was my responsibility to look after that day, Shadrach, was given his breakfast after being shipped in to the farm that morning, and while he ate, I groomed and tacked him up. Once he was ready, I was to walk him outside until a warm-up rider came to take him over the first course of jumps. And that was when the sun began to rise over the tree line, and it was one of the most beautiful, breathtaking sights I’ve ever seen. It was the perfect moment: seeing the sun rise at a place that feels like a second home to me – the horse farm. I was fortunate the photographer that day was able to capture this moment for me, because seeing the picture now brings back so many emotions and memories…it’s a moment that I’ll never forget.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

