What’s In Front Of You

SUBMISSION FOR MEMOIR CLASS:

What’s in front of me? “Old Friend From Far Away,” Brock’s Student Handbook opened to this week’s readings and assignments, two other textbooks, “Maus I,” readings for my Lit class, a grey pencil case, a blue highlighter, a red pen, a multivitamin I still haven’t taken yet, a holder overflowing with pens and pencils, a green paperweight, a bowl of salad, a bowl of tomato soup I haven’t finished eating yet, a mug of tea and meds to help with the flu I’ve gotten in the past two days, my unplugged printer, my iPod docking station which is currently playing Pitbull’s “Blanco,” a glass of water with ¼ water left in it, a Arabian horse calendar hanging on the wall, four shelves of DVDs, a painting of Jesus on a card, headphones for my iPod, three horse show ribbons hanging on the wall with my lucky horseshoe hanging next to them, a menu for Sushi Ai, a holder with a ton of CDs in them, my tartan purse on the floor next to me, my runners untied and damp from walking in the rain earlier, a box of Kleenex with light bulbs printed on the box, my cell phone, my alarm clock, my bed behind me (unmade, as usual), open curtains, a garbage can overflowing with used Kleenexes, a power bar on the floor at my feet, with plugs for my clock, laptop charger, desk lamp, iPod docking station, printer, and cell phone charger.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

